Types of authenticiy


The Act Respecting Reserved Designations and Added-Value Claims, which came into force on June 15, 2008, provides for the recognition of reserved designations based on various types of authenticity:

  • authenticity of the production method
  • authenticity of the link with a terroir
  • authenticity of the specificity

By means of these three designation categories, the Act guarantees consumers that products are authentic, meaning that they are:- based on production methods that are carefully defined by specification manuals;

  • produced or processed within specific regions;
  • manufactured in accordance with a tradition. 

For all of these designation categories, the Act provides for a certification by an independent body. For all the above reasons (public recognition by the Minister, independent certification), reserved designations are an unquestionable pledge of credibility.

Types of authenticiy